PDA

View Full Version : Im an FAA ATP pilot, and I hate the JAA.need your comments!

ronchonner
13th Mar 2001, 05:55
Hello,
I ve just passed my ATP license in the USA after 7 years of flying.(I start in 94, and the aviation market was not so good than now)
After 7 years of hard working, I have the opportunity to fly some small turboprop like Caravan or twin Otter.
I m not considering to come back to Europe for an expensive validation but I want to continue to fly and make money.
I m a european citizen, stuck outside of europe without work permit, but I bet you, than when they market will need pilots, I will be the first one to be hired because I possess an ICAO FAA.
Have you checked the magazines? airlines ask now for a FAA ATP or JAR Frozen ATP...
I spend 30'000$ for my 1500hours and I ve flown worlwide.Do you think really than guys like me, will come back to europe to pay crap european schools when we can fly turboprop or jet?
I would prefer to pay a type rating on A320 or B737 than to pass some stupid JAR tests?

I would like to read your comments, guys!

EggBeta
13th Mar 2001, 06:36
Ok, you are considering going back to Europe, or you are not considering going back to Europe?
If you go back to Europe, I'm afraid your FAA qualifications mean diddly squat, what does mean alot is that you have extensive flying experience which will stand you in very good stead for an airline job when you finish the JAR ground and flight exams!

JJflyer
13th Mar 2001, 06:41
Oh yes...

I know what you mean. I was in the same situation that you are. My workpermit expired and I was out of luck , no chance of reneval.
How about an JAA validation, surely 1000 hours of multi-engine P1 ( PIC ) and an FAA ATP is worth something. Well it is not as I have learned.