PDA

View Full Version : Whats in a title

Hartnup
29th Mar 2022, 04:17
Hi All

Im a newbie here so please be gentle. I'm a fresh Captain and Im extremely proud in what I've achieved. It's been even that more challenging given my gender. I don't want to sound full of myself but does anyone prefix their name with Captain in public eg. emails with schools or banks etc or even presenting a talk to aviation students or non-aviation? Much like the honoring of say medical doctors or lawyers? Is it suitable or is it really only to be used by military?

Thanks in advance.

Lookleft
29th Mar 2022, 07:04
First of all well done on getting through the Command training. Its up to you what you want to call yourself but it is not a Queens commission in the military or an indication that your skills might need to be called upon in the case of a medical emergency. It is a rank within a flight deck so that the crew knows who the PIC is. Beyond that it has little value. Anyone who is no longer an active pilot but still wants to be referred to as Captain is doing so for purely egotistical purposes IMHO. I have used it in company emails but mainly when communicating with 3rd parties on behalf of the airline to people who might feel that the position of Captain has some importance.

wishiwasupthere
29th Mar 2022, 07:11
If you show airport cafes your ASIC and tell them
you’re a Captain (they turnover staff so often so they usually aren’t aware of the significance of four stripes on your shoulders) it usually gets an extra 5% off your morning coffee.

Lead Balloon
29th Mar 2022, 07:12
I suggest you PM the PPRuNer 'baylover'. He has more than 32000 hours of experience and will, therefore, be ideally placed to provide wise guidance.

(BTW: Any topic or original post that has question marks in it will usually end up in the sub-forum with "questions" in its name.)

43Inches
29th Mar 2022, 07:13