PDA

View Full Version : JAA Exam Passes - Distance Learning

MixtureToRich
12th Mar 2001, 14:19
To Fellow Ppruners,

I am currently a few weeks into the PPSC correspondance course. Having read many threads on the pros and cons of distance learning, I would be interested to hear how people have actually faired with the JAA exams. How many passes first time ? How many hours a week for study ? And is the 315 hours quoted for Module 1 enough ?

I am currently coming to the end of Radio Theory (Thank God), but seem to be a bit worried about some of the information that will need to be retained for the exams that seem so far off

Any views of people that have actually done it would be most welcome

Regards

nicair
12th Mar 2001, 14:25
I studied by distance learning with Oxford last year, it is hard work when you are also working full time but it can be done. I passed them all first time in May and November of last year. The study times look similar to the Oxford course but it is the amount of revision that will make the difference. Good Luck.

MixtureToRich
12th Mar 2001, 15:15
Thanks for that nicair,

I'm too working full time, and managing 3/4 hours a day. The PPSC consolidation course ends 4 days before the exams, so time for revision would seem to be limited, apart from when on the course. How does this compare with oxford

Cheers
MixtureToRich

Superfly
12th Mar 2001, 22:12
Very nice to ear that this is manageable while working full time. Niceair , How long did you have to do your revisions ? Happy landings, Superfly

foghorn
13th Mar 2001, 03:21
Started at Four Forces May 2000
Seven Nav exams passed first time October 2000
Techs due in May

Do not underestimate the amount of work necessary for distance learning whilst holding down a full time job. Basically it's a whole year when it will feel like you have done nothing except constantly read textbooks and work.