PDA

View Full Version : A320 LDG with Slats or flaps jammed

Kevingee21
14th May 2021, 07:07
Hello fellow pilots

I am new to A320 (321-211 to be exact)

Was studying the QRH PROC and came across this note (from FCOM-ABN):

If FLAPS jammed > 0: MAINTAIN SLAT/FLAP CONFIGURATION Recommended speed for diversion: MAX SPEED -10 kt

Note: In the case of go-around with CONF FULL selected, the L/G NOT DOWN warning is triggered at landing gear retraction.

However when reading the triggering conditions for L/G NOT DOWN none of them seem to match, closet might be #2:

2.L/G is not downlocked and radio height is lower than 750 ft and both engines are not at T.O power and flaps at 1, 2, 3 or FULL

But this doesn’t seem right also (assuming GA TOGA=T.O power). Does it trigger some system logic change inside the LGCIU?

Also another question pertaining to this note from same QRH PROC:

‐ If VLS is greater than VFE NEXT (overweight landing case), the FLAPS lever can be set in the required next position, while the speed is reduced to follow VLS reduction as surfaces extend. The VFE warning threshold should not be triggered. In this case, disconnect the A/THR. A/THR can be re-engaged when the landing configuration is established.

Why disconnect A/THR in this case? Wouldn’t keeping it connected and in SPD mode more convenient? Any reason why?

Thanks so much in advance!

Fursty Ferret
14th May 2021, 08:42
ECAM warning and cautions are driven by flight phase, so take-off is different to missed approach.

For your second question, you'll need to disconnect the autothrust in order to decelerate below VLS to get the next stage of flaps out.

Goldenrivett
14th May 2021, 10:09
“Note: In the case of go-around with CONF FULL selected, the L/G NOT DOWN warning is triggered at landing gear retraction.

However when reading the triggering conditions for L/G NOT DOWN none of them seem to match, closet might be #2:”