PDA

View Full Version : ATIS information

oneo
3rd May 2021, 10:03
Hello friends,
We want to enter the below information to the ATIS, which one is the best suitable?

1 - RWY 10R/28L SHALL BE USED ONLY AS TWY.
2 - RWY 10R/28L TO BE USED ONLY AS TWY.
3 ​​​​​​​- RWY 10R/28L SHALL BE USED ONLY FOR TAXIING.
4 - RWY 10R/28L TO BE USED ONLY FOR TAXIING.

Jim59
3rd May 2021, 10:19
Runway 10R/28L closed. Closed runway 10R/28L in use as a taxiway.

Mooncrest
3rd May 2021, 10:21
I'm no expert but I like the first one. The word 'shall' has more spoken conviction than 'to be'.

oneo
3rd May 2021, 10:44

Thank you Jim59 but as it is an ATIS message, Wouldn't it be nice if it is a short and a sentence phraise?

Check Airman
3rd May 2021, 12:08
1 or 2, because they’re shorter.

Max Angle
3rd May 2021, 13:46
RWY 10R/28L closed but available for taxi.

nnc0
3rd May 2021, 14:47
Per 70 Mustang's comment - I think the word CLOSED has to be in there to be clear. Not having that word in there leaves questions and may cause misunderstandings

RWY 10R/28L IS CLOSED FOR TAKEOFFS AND LANDINGS.

RWY 10R/28L IS CLOSED FOR TAKEOFFS AND LANDINGS. RWY IS AVAILABLE OR TAXI PURPOSES ONLY

FlightDetent
3rd May 2021, 14:55
RWY 10R IS CLOSED FOR TAKE-OFF AND LANDING, (TAXI ACCORDING TO ATC INSTUCTIONS). Enough without the part in brackets.

Opposite direction: RWY 28L IS CLOSED FOR TAKE-OFF AND LANDING, (TAXI ACCORDING TO ATC INSTUCTIONS).

Don't say what can be done, say what must not be done. Most importantly never mix the two in the same sentece.
Use phraseologies as close to Annex 10 and Doc 4444, not open English language.
No points for getting it almost right and confusing someone.

#4 is reasonable.

jmmoric
3rd May 2021, 15:07
NOTAM it, and just mention what runway is actually in use for departure and landing as you normally would, could that be a solution? Cause then you wouldn't have to say anything.