PDA

View Full Version : PPL School in Central Scotland

Sindarin12
8th Sep 2020, 02:31
Hello,
I am a student at St Andrews and want to do my PPL part-time and I'm looking into Tayside and ACS.
I've emailed both asking for more information and Tayside replied that a 45-hour PPL on a 152 is around £8,500 and on a PA28 / C172 is £9,000. Still haven't heard from Tayside. For reference, I emailed Glasgow FC and they replied that it would cost around £12,000.
I'm asking for advice on choosing between these two schools. I'll be visiting them both soon as well.
For now, I'm leaning towards Tayside (if prices are similar) simply because it's a 25-minute drive vs a 50-minute one.
Thanks!

KayKay
8th Sep 2020, 14:39
Hi Sindarin,
Fife Flying Club ( [email protected] ) at Fife airfield Glenrothes is worth consideration. Tayside Aviation provide the aircraft and instructors for the club so the rates are the same as Dundee. Glenrothes is slightly further than Dundee but a lot closer than Perth.

Good luck with your flying !
Cheers
KayKay

fitliker
8th Sep 2020, 15:34
Ask what the average total hours for a PPL are in each place . Then take a look at the equipment and have a coffee or tea with the instructors .
Where you feel comfortable is where You should be . Different schools for different people ,
Be like Prince Charming and try all the feet for fit first ,before the dance .
When I went to a Tayside affiliated club in Dyce in 1987 it was not like Flight Safety back then , but they did have nice bumper stickers . Learn to Fly the Propeller Way .and they had aircraft to rent after . Good Times .