PDA

View Full Version : TACAN circa 1970

Ancient-Mariner
17th Feb 2020, 17:01
Back in the early 1970s at 30MU RAF Sealand I was a Civilian Radio Tech working on TACAN.
Can anyone remember where the TACAN Coupling Unit was located on a Vulcan or a Lightning? Coupling Units, made by Smiths, were of two shapes. Either a Black Aluminium Box about 9 inches wide by 8 inches high by 5 inches deep, or the other shape, an aluminium chassis with a pressed metal rear and similar front. About 7 inches wide, 5 inches high and 5 inches deep, affixed with three screws. Both types had 4 dials on the front. I know that the Belfast had the diecast version, since for old times sake I have just bought one off eBay. The Smiths label has (Belfast) stamped on it.
Many thanks.
Clive

ZH875
17th Feb 2020, 17:30
Coupling unit in Vulcan was mounted next to the T/R in the Stbd side of the Nosewheel bay

The Oberon
17th Feb 2020, 17:55
Coupling unit in Vulcan was mounted next to the T/R in the Stbd side of the Nosewheel bay
Agreed, I changed 1 in 22 years. It took me ages to find it because nobody else could remember having changed one.

Ancient-Mariner
17th Feb 2020, 20:56
Thanks ZH875 and The Oberon
I guess that it looked like https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TACAN-Type-ARI18107-Coupling-Unit-Type-11920-as-fitted-to-Lightning-/223711096093?hash=item3416386d1d&_trkparms=pageci%3Ab2babf70-51cd-11ea-9bf2-74dbd18097b4%7Cparentrq%3A5515affe1700ac3d3354c035ffe559e2%7 Ciid%3A1 It may not have had the Cannon type connector on the front. Strangely, that eBay item refers to a Lightning, yet on a visit to RAF Binbrook myself and my line manager asked where the TACAN coupling unit was situated and it was NOT of that type, but the diecast unit.