PDA

View Full Version : UK citizen discovery flight in Florida - can I log the hours?

HennersB
9th Feb 2020, 12:30
Hello all,

I'm a novice with just 1 hour in my logbook currently, and visiting Fort Lauderdale from my country of residence, England UK next week.

I haven't completed TSA registration at this time, but I've been offered a 'discovery flight' around Fort Lauderdale next week.

Just to check - can I record this flight in my logbook?

I'm trying to get as much experience and log as many hours as possible, hoping to get to the airlines in the future.

Many thanks in advance!

Cheers,

Henry

eckhard
9th Feb 2020, 18:32
Hi Henry,

I guess you’re relatively new to the flying game?
You have asked a good question and I’ll try to answer it in a simple way.

There is a difference in what you record in your log-book and what you claim as experience when you apply for a licence or rating.

Essentially, as your log-book is your personal record, you are entitled to record whatever you like. If you want to use it as a kind of diary, to provide a source of happy memories later in life (ask me how I know), then you can write in any experience, stick photos in, get your booked stamped by any suitable authority, etc.

What you can’t do is claim non-relative experience when you come to fill in an application form for a pilot’s certificate, be it a licence or additional rating. For example, when you apply for a PPL, you must be careful only to claim those hours that have been flown with a qualified flight instructor and which have been accrued whilst following an approved syllabus. There may be exceptions to this but you get the general idea.