PDA

View Full Version : 1967 Piper Arrow 180

twistedmr
11th Nov 2019, 04:41
Hi Everyone i'm new to this forum.
I have been reading around and finally some general aviation chat i have been struggling with other forums.
Does anyone have any usefull insight on the pros & cons of purchasing and older Piper arrow or even cherokee, i am aware there is a few different motors available and are they always fixed prop? do they require SIDs cert? how do they line up next to cessna 172 models running cost wise? Also if anyone has owned one some input appreciated.

Best regards
Adrian

Pilot DAR
11th Nov 2019, 06:26
Welcome to the forums Adrian,

I have lots of experience with all three of the types you mention. They are all great planes, though with burdens which are coming with aging aircraft. All Arrows will have variable pitch props. A few Cherokees and 172's have them, with all others being configured with fixed pitch props. The engine and propeller operating costs for these aircraft will be easily predicted, with no surprises unique to the type of airplane.