PDA

View Full Version : Wheels Up KA350 After Engine Start Extended Delays Before Taxiing

BlkAv8tor2003
11th Aug 2019, 00:28
Hey looking for anyone who is familiar with wheels up King air 350. I work the line for a major FBO and wheels up is a regular customer and my question is after they start up engines we have an extremely long delay before they can taxi and I'm trying to figure out why?

Here at KSDL (PHX) everyone one knows how hot it can get and the ramp temps are sometimes 35* hotter than the OAT. When we are marshalling them out they can sit for 20 mins or longer and it's not due to ground holds, taxi clearances but we can't get a straight answer about what they may be doing.

I'm looking for any technical info regarding their after start procedures that has them sitting so long while we are roasting in the intense heat. I'm a pilot but not a paid pilot yet so I do understand the older King Air gyro spin up and stabilization but I don't know if the the newer 350's have to observe the same wait time after start up. Any info is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

holdingagain
11th Aug 2019, 21:26
I know nothing about WU however I do know that there is nothing required on a KA350 to prevent you from departing the FBO in a prompt manner just like all your other customers.

My guess the delay is due to how their pilot standard company operating procedures are written.

dc9-32
12th Aug 2019, 06:03
You could ask the pilots or would that be too easy.

His dudeness
12th Aug 2019, 07:51
"but we can't get a straight answer about what they may be doing."

This would lead me to believe the TO tried that approach already.

And btw, any Gyro that takes more than a few minutes to spin up, I´d have removed for repairs. Typically in a PL21 equipped KA, it takes something like 2 minutes after second startup to be ready to taxi, if you`re slow. (and not training or troubleshooting)

Mister Warning
12th Aug 2019, 08:34