PDA

View Full Version : Ryanair loses court case in The Netherlands

Longhitter
23rd Apr 2019, 14:05
Ryanair has been sentenced to pay 8 pilots in excess of 3 million euro in total for unlawful redundancy.

In Dutch:

https://www.nu.nl/economie/5857083/ryanair-moet-tonnen-betalen-aan-acht-nederlandse-piloten.html

Eric Janson
23rd Apr 2019, 14:16
I'm not a legal expert but I believe this decision can now by used as a precedent across the EU.

racedo
23rd Apr 2019, 14:54
Nope because like everything this will go to appeal and figure it will be 4-5 years before it gets there.

derjodel
23rd Apr 2019, 14:58
The employment laws vary a lot between EU countries, so unless this is something decided by one of the EU courts, it's not really applicable at all. And then, even if it were, before you can appeal to that instance, you'd be long broke as in some countries it can take decades to reach the point where you could even appeal to say ECHR.

fox niner
23rd Apr 2019, 15:36
They lose big time.

https://uitspraken.rechtspraak.nl/inziendocument?id=ECLI:NL:RBOBR:2019:2313&showbutton=true&keyword=Ryanair

and as I said in the ryanair thread elsewhere: “uitvoerbaar bij voorraad” so they have to pay up immediately regardless of an appeal.

In this link some text is in english, so read an weep.

pax2908
23rd Apr 2019, 17:15
Can't read Dutch (or a mix?) but if 3M is the total for all 8 persons then it seems quite cheap actually.

MathFox
23rd Apr 2019, 17:48
Can read Dutch (and know a bit or two about employment law): €3 million total in 8 wrongful termination suits is quite high for Dutch standards. Normal termination would have cost Ryanair about €400.000, the other €2.6M is compensation for unfair behaviour on Ryanair's side. (The judge had some choice words about the way RYR handled the EHEH strike and "negotiations" with the union.)