PDA

View Full Version : PMI COURSE

glenb
11th Apr 2019, 05:15
Hi All,
Is anyone aware of an online course or similar that has been designed to meet the MOS requirements for Principles and Methods of Instruction (PMI), cheers. Glen

Duck Pilot
11th Apr 2019, 10:03
Not aware of any online courses, I’m currently studying to do the exam and using the FAA Flight Instructor’s Manual. Haven’t got a link for it however it’s free to download if you can find it online, google search.

As far as practice exams go, try https://www.practicecyberexams.com/

RUMBEAR
11th Apr 2019, 11:29
I haven’t kept up to date with the introduction of Part 61 but they’re was a big difference between a PMI course ( which included something like 12 hours minimum classroom instruction) and sitting the exam. One was required as classroom instruction for the issue of a grade 3 instructor rating. The exam was required for the issue of a grade 1 instructor rating. An online PMI would seem to be an inappropriate delivery method of this type of course. There needs to be a reasonable level of interaction required due to the course content.

Doesnt really answer the question, just my thoughts!

Runaway Gun
12th Apr 2019, 05:40
I second Duck Pilot's suggestion. Keep in mind there may be two or three questions relating to CASA publications (it's open book).
Otherwise, score above 90% on the cyber exams, and you are ready.

roundsounds
12th Apr 2019, 11:47
CASA FIR information sheet (https://www.casa.gov.au/file/205506/download?token=l3-q_IiN)

As well as passing the PIRC you must meet the educational requirements (that means you must either hold a tertiary qualifcation in teaching or a certifcate IV in training and assessment, or complete an approved course of training in principles and methods of instruction)

The Exam (https://www.casa.gov.au/standard-page/pilot-instructor-rating-common-examination-pirc)

Runaway Gun
13th Apr 2019, 12:25