PDA

View Full Version : Boeing 777 "knocking" query

wyrwb1
13th Feb 2019, 12:11
Hi, I'm not technically qualified as aircraft go, but wonder is anyone canthrow a little light on a recent flight I was on.

The 777/300 had just taken off from Bangkok and I was sat over the wngs by the right hand side window. I found it rather disconcerting when,from below the floor, a heavy thumping could be felt. This would happen, three or four knocks, then stop for a while and then start again. this continuied to go on for about and hour into the flight then it stopped.
I brought this to the attention of the cabin crew, but felt I was rather fobbed off as nothing to be cocerned about.
Could anyone enlighten as to what the cause of this knocking could be. I know it's a long shot, but would be very interested to replies.

PDR1
13th Feb 2019, 13:10
An asylum seaker...

:O

PDR

wyrwb1
13th Feb 2019, 14:39
Funnily enough that thought did occur to me.

PDR1
13th Feb 2019, 15:51
I stress that this was a joke!

PDR

wyrwb1
13th Feb 2019, 17:05
Yes I realise that, but the thought really did occur to me.
i don’t know what is below that part of the floor and having 1000’s of miles to fly with the knocking, it was somewhat disconcerting.

ShyTorque
13th Feb 2019, 19:49
Maybe the co-pilot had locked the captain out of the cockpit.

oldpax
14th Feb 2019, 02:56
"About an hour into the flight"? Perhaps it was hydraulics being used until it reached the cruise when all systems should have settled down?

wiggy
15th Feb 2019, 07:40
Difficult to guess...