PDA

View Full Version : Decisions decisions!

rizzler100
13th Feb 2019, 06:53
Hi all,

I have been researching where best to get my PPL training done over the last few months. I am currently a teacher in an international school in South East Asia and will have a solid two month vacation over June and July when I want to get this done. As well as efficiency, value for money and quality of training, it is also my summer holiday and so I want to go somewhere that will be a fun and interesting experience both in terms of the flying and general life.

With that said I'm currently looking at a few schools in the Vancouver area of Canada more specifically Pacific Flying and Victoria Flying Club and very recently have had my attention drawn to Pan Aero in Croatia. I'm basically looking for any one with experiences in any of the places to provide any feedback/ thoughts/ feelings they may have about their time there. It seems to me that the training costs will be largely similar but the general living costs of Croatia will be cheaper. Its also a closer flight from where I currently am and would be easy to maybe pop home to the UK for a week whilst there. The training will be done on a DA20 in Croatia and a C150 in Canada. The licenses provided will obviously different but the Canadian one offers the opportunity for an FAA license off the back of it.

I'm a British citizen so with the current Brexit mess it may mean that both a Canadian and EASA license will be considered 3rd party after March 29th. That plus the fact I haven't lived in Europe for 4+ years means I'm not overly concerned with the issuing authority. So which license is generally easier to fly in various countries around the world with?

I am always open to other suggestions too. I looked into various schools in the US, but the general cost seems to be higher, not to mention to ball ache of getting the relevant visa.
Any advice, suggestions or general observations more than welcome.
Cheers

Ebbie 2003