PDA

View Full Version : Handling the DC ESS Bus Fault A320


pineteam
2nd Jan 2019, 01:36
Hello guys,

I'm curious to know what's your SOP regarding the handling of the communication during the DC ESS Bus fault. As explained on this TAP Portugal video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAb_Cl4BuR0&t=97s if the captain is PF, if you put Audio Switch on Cpt, only the CM1 can hear the communication from ATC via his headset. But what about selecting audio switch to FO side and the Cpt will use the FO hand mike to transmit and right loudspeaker? Any issue doing that?? Instead of giving control and communication to the FO. At least both pilots can monitor ATC.
Also some instructors recommends to extend the RAT to recover the blue system but I don't find any reference from Airbus to support that... I personally don't think it's necessary.

Please share your experience.
Thank you!

vilas
2nd Jan 2019, 10:41
With transfer to FO Using VHF2 with right loud speaker high will keep both pilots in the loop. Deployment of RAT will switch the AC Essential supply irrevocably to emergency generator. May not be a good idea to device non recommended procedure only to recover spoiler3.

Fursty Ferret
2nd Jan 2019, 14:04
With transfer to FO Using VHF2 with right loud speaker high will keep both pilots in the loop. Deployment of RAT will switch the AC Essential supply irrevocably to emergency generator. May not be a good idea to device non recommended procedure only to recover spoiler3.

Deploying the RAT using the control on the hydraulic panel should provide hydraulic power only (I'm not on A320 any more so worth checking in FCOM).

I'm firmly on the "if Airbus wanted you to do it, they'd tell you" side of things.

FlightDetent
2nd Jan 2019, 16:05
I'm firmly on the "if Airbus wanted you to do it, they'd tell you" side of things. Same here.

black diamond
2nd Jan 2019, 16:20
Just turn on both speakers, then it doesn’t matter which one works.
Follow the checklist that was devised on the ground always better than making it up.

vilas
3rd Jan 2019, 04:59
Fursty
You are correct. Being an electrical problem I overlooked the hydraulic panel option. However one is better of sticking to Airbus procedures.

pineteam
3rd Jan 2019, 05:55
Thanks guys for the comments.:ok: I'm also against doing things if Airbus do not say anything about it.

Just turn on both speakers, then it doesn’t matter which one works.
Follow the checklist that was devised on the ground always better than making it up.



Hello,
Yes my doubt was if the CM2 hand mike would be operational or not. But I guess it is. Well I hope so, going in the sim next week and will do it this way when we will have the DC ESS Bus Fault: I will take communication and ask the FO to set the Audio switch to FO side, and ask him to pass his hand mike and open his loudspeaker. :p

Edit: Guys, if there is anything specific you want me to experiment in the sim, I can ask the instructor if we finish the syllabus early.

Escape Path
4th Jan 2019, 03:00
Well I guess you could use the hand mic, but it’s a coiled cord which I think it would translate into having one hand with the mic at all times or otherwise device something that holds the mic nearby because if you let go of it, since the cord would be stretched, it would spring back and most likely hitting the FO with it :E

Even if you sort of get the mic out from the FO side behind their seat so the cable isn’t in the way (which is another issue with this), the coiled cord I think would be an issue if you can’t think of a way of holding it near you.

i like the idea though, of having the two CMs in the loop

pineteam
6th Jan 2019, 07:45
Hello Escape Path,

That’s a very good point. I actually tried it today during flight and yes it’s not that convenient. You have to keep the handmike in your hand at all time otherwise if you drop it on the floor it just goes back behind FO seat. xD. I mean it’s doable; You could just not release it but not ideal tho.I guess I will just give control and communication to the CM2 when aircraft is under control with AP2 and deal with the ECAM actions myself.:E

Uplinker
6th Jan 2019, 11:38
I agree that we should not make up our own procedures by switching major systems on or off unless directed to; people have killed themselves by doing that.

The youtube link does not work, and I don’t have current access to details of a DC Ess Bus failure, however, if only ACP2 works, but the F/O has to fly, would the F/O’s headset lead reach over to the LHS? - (routing behind the F/O - I can’t try this myself at the moment). If so the Cap could wear the F/O’s headset and key the F/O boom mic via the PTT switch on ACP2, which is easy to reach.

Leaving the speaker(s) on as well would keep the F/O in the loop.

pineteam
6th Jan 2019, 12:59
Hello Uplinker,
The ACP2 is inop also. So would not work. I attached the link below. It explains pretty well what's going on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAb_Cl4BuR0&t=97s

Escape Path
8th Jan 2019, 23:09
I think it would probably be adequate to handle this as someone suggested to handle the ADRs on the Abnormal V Alpha Prot OEB: Switch ACP3 to whoever is handling comms and leave the FO speaker to max, as pointed in the video.

Uplinker: anything can reach over to the Capt side with a long enough cable :E But I can’t see a reason to do this as ACP2 is also inop as pointed by pineteam. You still have to switch ACP3 to someone.

Uplinker
9th Jan 2019, 07:41
I agree - My suggestion was based on not having access to the details of the problem, only that folk seemed to be talking about using the RHS mic from the left side, which would be awkward owing to the coiled lead and its location.

The guys in that most recent video are swapping ACP3 to Cap or F/O depending on who is using Comms at the time, which seems entirely sensible to me :ok:

pineteam
13th Jan 2019, 10:33
So I had the failure around 800 feet during the approach; Went around, engaged AP2 and shortly after levelling off and about to enter the hold, I gave the control to the FO which initiated the Ecam action immediately. So we recovered the communication pretty fast as we had agreed how to handle it before the LOE started. After the sim session I asked the TRE what was his opinion about the way I handle the failure, and he told me that's how they expect us to deal with this failure as they prefer that both pilots can monitor ATC communication. Another set of the crew decided to do exactly as the TAP video. But the Fo got confused and did not set ACP 3 correctly and the captain has to help resulting in quite a long time without communication. That's another reason also I rather deal with the ECAM myself as I'm quite familiar with this failure. I was with a new FO in the sim.. And I know how lost I was the first time I had that failure in the sim. xD. It's not complicated actually assuming we fully understand the consequences of this failure.:}

Escape Path
13th Jan 2019, 16:54
Thanks for that info pineteam. Nice to have these sort of things tested