PDA

View Full Version : Studying for Exams

BravoSierraKilo
24th Dec 2018, 16:03
I currently work in finance and travel a lot from Ireland to the UK and I also work a lot from home which means studying is bloody hard. I use Pooley's books and exam prep material and I also use question bank apps.

How have other people studied for their flight exams while juggling life? Have you sat them in a partucpart order or by simply what is eaiser?

The Irish Aviation Authority statess the 9 examinations must be completed in a maximum of 6 sittings. There is a maximum of 4 attempts at an examination and 9 examinations must be completed with 18 months from your first examination attempt.

Thanks

Mick

flyingkeyboard
25th Dec 2018, 19:34
Assuming PPL as that is what I am doing and I believe there are 14 ATPL exams.

Simply plan to make time for reading the books. I read 30 minutes to an hour a day and am flying (excuse the pun) through them. Closer to the exams I have been using PPLcruiser which has been a great way of confirming the learning.

maxar
26th Dec 2018, 18:54
As of my experience reading books and then solving questions is a waste of time. You should solve questions first even if you don't know anything about it. Then you can search the information in the book for that specific question. In this way, I learned the subjects more deeply and I didn't feel as bored as Iust reading books. I use AviationExam QB and a while ago found a free QB which has better questions in it that lastly appeared on my exams (atplexams.com). Hope this helps. Best of luck for exams.

eagleflyer
26th Dec 2018, 20:00