PDA

View Full Version : Pilot Deviation Notice

arthur106
16th Sep 2018, 01:01
I'm a flight instructor in the Memphis, TN area. We do most of our flight training in or just below the Memphis Class B airspace. Today, I was flying with a student who was working on his Commercial Multi-engine conversion (currently holds a Kenyan license). While in the air, we were diligently monitoring the radio frequencies. The student was actively manning the radios and I was monitoring the radios, as well. At one point during the flight, we hear ATC angrily say, "Mem Appch, Duchess XXX..." Confused as to why he's frustrated (we had been listening and hadn't received any prior calls) I responded, "Duchess XXX, go ahead". The controller then says something along the lines of, "Duchess XXX, turn eastbound immediately, traffic less than 1/2 mile ...... WE NEED YOU TO LISTEN, WE'VE ALREADY CALLED YOU THREE TIMES." We immediately cranked it over into a right turn towards the East and after the situation was over my student and I looked at each other--he was just as dumbfounded as I was. Certainly, I miss radio calls from time-to-time, especially in a training environment, but I've always made a conscious effort to listen to ALL radio chatter, not just for my callsign, in order to gain situational awareness; I've NEVER been one of the pilots chastised by ATC for not listening. About 30 seconds after the incident, ATC calls and asks us why we didn't respond to their calls. I politely told him that I'm flying with another experienced commercial pilot, both of us were listening, and we did not hear a single call for us. About 15 seconds later, he informs us of a possible pilot deviation.