PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Advice - Using 'Military' flying hours towards PPL

Thalassophobia
2nd May 2018, 11:37
I'm a military pilot under training and would like to gain my PPL(A) Qual. Having graduated from Grading and Elementary Flying Training, I have around 60 hours on the Grob 115E (Tutor). In Short, I would like to use these hours towards getting my qualification.

I have been told various things with regards to using military hours towards civilian flying (with respect to whether it's allowed or not), however all of these hours are done in a 'G' registered aircraft and for the most part under the instruction of a contracted civilian instructor. Therefore I personally believe they are as civilian as they can be.

Just trying to get as much advice/knowledge as possible before I approach an ATO to start flying/doing my exams etc.

Hopefully this sparks a conversation,

Thanks all

Basophobia
2nd May 2018, 20:18
...it’s not looking ideal for you.

As as an EFT graduate I think you are exempt the requirement to undergo formal theoretical training for the exams. You can just go ahead and take them.

Your flying experience will not count I’m afraid (if I understand the regs) because you do not meet the minimum of 10 hours PIC/PICUS. Therefore you will need to fly the normally required 25 hours dual instruction at an ATO. Plus the solo requirements and QXC before skills test.

Like I said, I’m a bit out of touch with the regs these days. Maybe someone else can translate CAP 804 into jackspeak for you. Nice username by the way 😉

Whopity
2nd May 2018, 21:40
Go to the US for a short holiday. Gain a FAA PPL then convert it.

TheOddOne
2nd May 2018, 22:09