PDA

View Full Version : Mass and balance new question

Zsoti89
18th Apr 2018, 18:47
Hello
first of all thank al of you who’ll answer and try to help me understand this one. I started studying mass and balance but I got stuck with this one.
Thats the question.
The CG limits are from 5 inches forward to 7 inches aft of the datum. If the MAC is 41 inches and its leading edge is 15 inches forward of the datum what are the CG limits as %MAC?
Thank you for your answers.

TryingToAvoidCBs
18th Apr 2018, 19:53
It helps to draw it out.

I havn't done this stuff for a while, but I'm fairly sure the forward CoG is 10" behind the leading edge and the rear CoG of 22" aft of the leading edge.

If the MAC is 41" then:

Forward limit %MAC = 10/41 = 24%
Rearward limit %MAC = 22/41 = 53%

Zsoti89
19th Apr 2018, 10:36
Thank you so much. Now I understand.
Could you please help me with this one please? I made it but my answer is slightly more than it should be just wonder if I did something wrong.
The question is.
an aeroplane has a zero fuel mass 47.800 kg and a performance limited TOM of 62.000 kg. The distances of the leading edge and trailing edge of the MAC from the datum are 16 m and 19.5 m. What quantity of fuel in imperial gallons must be taken up to move the CG from 30% MAC to 23%MAC if the tank arm is 16 m aft of the datum and the fuel SG is 0.72?

thank you.

omi787
15th Dec 2022, 11:02
Hello mate can you explain how did you get the 22 inches? i am aware you added the 15 and the 7 but why exactly ?
thank you.

RichardH
16th Dec 2022, 10:07
Because LE is 15" forward of datum & rear limit is 7" aft of datum = 22" from LE.

omi787
16th Dec 2022, 13:06
Because LE is 15" forward of datum & rear limit is 7" aft of datum = 22" from LE.
thank you very much Richard, it made sense after i drew it.

thank you.

VariablePitchP
16th Dec 2022, 20:55
Thank you so much. Now I understand.