PDA

View Full Version : Converting ICAO to FAA

greenmz
13th Apr 2018, 15:16
Hello,

I'm a 25 year old pilot from the Netherlands. I was wondering if it is a viable option to convert my Swedish Frozen ATPL licence to an FAA licence.
would this allow me to get a ATPL job in the United States and if so how would I best start this process?
I have no hours except those from my flight training.

Thank you in advance!

MarkerInbound
13th Apr 2018, 23:12
So in FAA speak you hold a commercial license and have passed your ATP exams. Congratulations, the FAA will issue you a private certificate limited to VFR. To get anything higher you would have to do the same thing a native born American would have to do, pass writtens and pass checkrides. To get an ATP level job in the US you will need 1500 hours. None of that will get you a job without a US passport or a "green card."

careerSO
20th Apr 2018, 10:32
I keep hearing rumours about a possible EASA-FAA ATPL/ATP straight conversion coming in the future. Does anyone have anymore concrete information on this?

havick
20th Apr 2018, 14:45
I keep hearing rumours about a possible EASA-FAA ATPL/ATP straight conversion coming in the future. Does anyone have anymore concrete information on this?

This already exists and has existed for many years for any ICAO ATP/ATPL so long as you have a valid license and instrument rating and meet the FAA aeronautical experience for the ATP which is in part 61. Have you bothered to read the regs yet?

MarkerInbound
20th Apr 2018, 17:53
When the FAA announced their agreement with Transport Canada in 2006 they said there may be more licensing BASAs in the future. Nothing has happened since then.

As havick points out, if you hold a commercial with an IR and have 1500 hours or if you hold a foreign ATP you can get a FAA ATP by completing the ATP CTP course (if you want a ME ATP), passing the written and passing a checkride. Same path an American pilot with 1500 hours and a commercial +IR would take.