PDA

View Full Version : Kemerovo fire tragedy

Tankertrashnav
27th Mar 2018, 00:36
Apparently the death toll in the terrible fire at the shopping complex in Kemerovo in Siberia has now reached 64. First of all, notwithstanding the entirely justified diplomatic moves which have been made against Russia, I trust that a message of sympathy has been sent on this country's behalf. Our quarrel is with the Russian state - not with ordinary men women and children

I am deeply depressed to hear that once again fire examiners have discovered that emergency exits had been locked. I cant say how many times over the year when there have been fires with major loss of life, say in nightclubs etc, exits have been found to have been blocked

When I was an RAF fire officer I found that on more than one occasion fire exits had been blocked in buildings where I was carrying out annual fire inspections. One one occasion I had a stand-up (verbal) fight with the OC of a flight who seemed to think that security considerations trumped fire safety. I refused to sign off the inspection and the matter was resolved at a higher level.

Dont wait. Have a look at your own house or place of work today. Do you know how to get out in case of fire? Do you know where the fire exits are, and are they clear? Personally there are a few "rabbit warren" shops which I will not enter as I think they are fire traps. If your workplace is like that - get something done about it.

flash8
27th Mar 2018, 00:57
Arriving in Moscow 1999... and being young went clubbing.... was dancing and suddenly people started hitting my back... turned out the "candles" around the dance floor had caught my shirt alight! My first night here as well!