PDA

View Full Version : ----- FAA vs JAA -----

darrylpeters
22nd Jul 2002, 12:19
I am a wannabe Airline pilot and have only just had my first trial lesson. On a recent trip an English flight school I asked my flight instructor about doing a JAA PPL in USA. He claimed that it was not worth doing a JAA PPL if I wanted to go all the way. Basically he said don't follow the JAA route if you plan on going all the way (for a CPL then ATPL). Rather he suggested that I take the FAA route.

He claimed that I would be able to fly with an FAA PPL in the UK with some clubs so I should go for that first. He also claimed that The JAA route cost a lot of money for nothing. He claimed the FAA route was cheaper and a little quicker too. I have spoken to a few flight instructors and one thing I will say is he was honest.

He also claimed British airways aside, most airlines would welcome an FAA license.

What I want to know from you guys is:

Which route do you recommend. Please try an use some logic in your response. Don't tell me JAA cos your European, or FAA cos your not!!

Has anyone out there had any experiences that would be beneficial for me to know.

By the way I am British resident if that matters.

P.P.S. Mr. moderator please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong forum.

Evo7
22nd Jul 2002, 15:21
You can fly a G-reg aircraft in the UK on a FAA PPL (with some restrictions, of course).

If you're an ab-initio Wannabe, then to fly for a UK airline you have to have, as a minimum, a JAR-FCL CPL/multi-IR with ATPL 'knowledge' (i.e. the frozen ATPL). I'm sure he is wrong about you being welcomed with a FAA licence.

However, there are some small signs that it may not always be a case of JAA or FAA - I think that it has just become easier to convert a FAA IR to a JAA IR, for example. Other changes might follow. Or they might not.

If you can live and work in the USA you could, of course, go down the FAA route and fly there.