PDA

View Full Version : Getting back to flying

Zaventem
22nd Dec 2017, 13:46
Hello guys,

I’ve got a question about getting back to flying.
First some background information:
In june 2010 I graduated at CAE Belgium (ATPL, CPL and MCP).
I have around 200 hours and did an IR check for the last time in 2013.
Due to certain reasons I didn’t start a pilot job.

Now I’ve read that my (frozen) ATPL is valid until 7 years after my last IR check. Can somebody confirm?
As times changed, and I certainly don’t want to lose my ATPL, I want to do an IR check in the near future.
My question to you is, what’s the best thing to do? Maybe somebody has already been in the same situation.
I didn’t touch a throttle since 2013.
After getting my medical again, should I contact an ATO? As this is probably the most expensive solution.
Or can I just get my SEP rating again. Try to get some MEP hours afterwards and contact an examiner myself?
Sorry for the maybe stupid questions, but I’ve been searching on this for quite some time.

Thanks!

rudestuff
22nd Dec 2017, 14:57
Do you want to get a job within 12 months, or just keep the ATPL credits?

The cheapest way to keep the credits is to do an SEIR test. If you want to get a job, then pay more and do the MEIR. You don't need to get SEP or MEP revalidated for a jet job.

RTN11
22nd Dec 2017, 16:44
Now I’ve read that my (frozen) ATPL is valid until 7 years after my last IR check. Can somebody confirm?

You may have read this in EASA Part FCL, as it is correct.

FCL.025

(2) The completion of the airline transport pilot licence (ATPL) theoretical knowledge
examinations will remain valid for the issue of an ATPL for a period of 7 years from the last
validity date of:
(i) an IR entered in the licence; or

I certainly don’t want to lose my ATPL

You don't have an ATPL.

Or can I just get my SEP rating again. Try to get some MEP hours afterwards and contact an examiner myself?

How will you get MEP hours with an SEP rating?