PDA

View Full Version : When people don't get it about flying...

visibility3miles
22nd Dec 2017, 04:28
Had a sympathetic friend tell me about a great flying game friends of his did. They had foot long models of various aircraft and you took turns following what a deck of cards told you to do, such as, taxi to the runway, take off, fly to the right, etc.

Told me how really lifelike it was and how keen they were about flying and identifying various planes.

He couldn't understand why I was bored to tears at the concept.

Anybody else had a similar disconnect?

India Four Two
22nd Dec 2017, 06:29
When I tell people I'm a glider pilot, the response is often "What happens when the wind stops?"

gemma10
22nd Dec 2017, 07:17
My wife once asked me after her first flight with me, why we stayed in the same gear all the way.

goudie
22nd Dec 2017, 14:33
When I was gliding in the sixties I was airborne one day when Mrs g was offered flight in a Blanik. Off she went, sat in the front, the pilot asked her what she thought of it, '' a bit boring'', she replied. Next thing she knows it's going into a dive then climb and a wing over, followed by several other manouvers. It was only when she landed did she discover that the pilot was currently flying in the 'Red Arrows'!

pulse1
22nd Dec 2017, 15:51
My wife once asked me after her first flight with me, why we stayed in the same gear all the way.

What more encouragement do you need to upgrade to a variable pitch prop?

gemma10
22nd Dec 2017, 16:03
What more encouragement do you need to upgrade to a variable pitch prop?
What? On an AA5!!

ehwatezedoing
22nd Dec 2017, 17:14
A story from my dad, station manager in the 70's.
He had hard time one day to convince an old lady to check in her beloved dog in a cage for a trip on a DC-8.

"Are you out of your mind! In the hold! With all that coal!"

:}

https://media.licdn.com/mpr/mpr/shrinknp_800_800/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAPEAAAAJDRlNWE1NDNiLWFiYmMtNDRhNi05ZjI5LWE2MGQy M2E2OTI0Yg.jpg