PDA

View Full Version : Distance learning advice

OCW
28th Nov 2017, 18:51
I would appreciate any advice, study tips etc. I am currently studying my ATPL exams through distance learning with Bristol. I try and do 3 - 4 hours per day and usually get through a lesson a day which on that basis module one would take 4 months to complete that is before even touching the question banks. My concern is that once I’ve passed the lesson quiz and moved onto the next lesson I don’t feel like I’m retaining much from the previous lessons.I am not sure whether to be concerned by this? Or do things just start falling into place the further you get into the course?

Not sure also if I am trying to learn too much rather than just picking out the important bits.

Any thoughts or better ways to study would be much appreciated.

Officer Kite
29th Nov 2017, 06:06
We study using bristol and all I can say is if you plan to do every CBT throughout the module and then still have time for the question banks, you're going to get a nasty surprise.

Get a subscription to aviationexam and that's all you'll need. You have at least 80% of the questions you're going to face in your official exam and you if you start doing these questions from the get go you'll be very good at them. They also offer very good explanations on the relevant topics and theories about which the questions are asking, if you get one wrong you can just read the explanation and understand. There are mini attachments too sometimes if you're looking to get an efficient and to the point summary of a topic.

Really the key to these ATPLs is not to study hard, you have to study smart!

rudestuff
29th Nov 2017, 15:04
You're actually reading the books? Bash the QBs and you can do a subject a week.

Jolax
29th Nov 2017, 15:34
Oh yeah.. then when someone calls you for an interview you can definitely say: A,B,C or even D

rudestuff
29th Nov 2017, 16:22