PDA

View Full Version : Helicopter Downlink Antennas for live broadcast

bluesideoops
23rd Nov 2017, 02:18
If you get an STC/mod for downlink antennas for live broadcast like this for example:

Crosstube Antenna Mount AS350 / AS355 (http://www.dartaerospace.com/d350-836-019-airbus-crosstube-antenna-mount-as350-as355)

Is the rest of the equipment considered 'role' equipment and not needed to be covered by STC/mod? Do broadcast companies generally bring along all the gear and just need the heli to have the antennas to downlink via?

How about ELA/EM considerations.....

Uplinker
23rd Nov 2017, 07:30
We used to bring and fit the whole kit, including aerials and actuators.

This was in the days before I was a pilot and I can’t remember what the exact legal situation was, but on our installations, the aircraft engineer associated with the helicopter signed it all off.

If we needed a different aerial for a particular reason, we just swapped it over.

So I think the basic mounting(s) must have been CAA approved but the exact aerials and layout used on a particular day were not set in stone, as long as they were mounted securely and wirelocked etc.

What project do you have in mind? I used to do this sort of thing a lot.

bluesideoops
24th Nov 2017, 06:18