PDA

View Full Version : Which Instructor rating to be most employable?

rudestuff
14th Oct 2017, 12:16
I'm thinking about doing an instructor rating, and for the cost of a full FI course, I could do an MEP CRI and IRI

Obviously an FI would let me work in a lot more places, but being an MEP/IR instructor would set me apart, as they are harder ratings to get. Which instructors are in shortest supply?

rudestuff
14th Oct 2017, 16:50
I'd like to do some part time instructing. I'm an airline pilot so IFR time for IRI isn't a problem. I've got CPL(H) (so that's an option too) and I'm current on SEP. I'm a bit short on MEP PIC but I can make that up. I just wondered which instructing qualification is most in demand?

Whopity
14th Oct 2017, 19:32
IRI will only let you teach on SE aeroplanes. You have to have the CRI(ME) and the IRI to teach IR on ME aeroplanes. You could not teach at an Integrated ATO as its ab-initio for which you would need FI as well.

xrayalpha
15th Oct 2017, 08:48
Get a microlight instructor's ticket: buy your own microlight and help out some schools in the busy summer.

Some good tax breaks on owning your own aircraft!

rudestuff
15th Oct 2017, 09:16
Can you expand on that?

S-Works
16th Oct 2017, 08:32
As the Head of Training of a Commercial Flying school in my secondary duty we don't take in none FI(A) Instructors. We want them to have come through "the ranks" and have taught all the levels and be able to teach all the levels. I am a Captain on the Embraer jet for the day job and I can tell you being an airline pilot means jack all when it comes to teaching. Trying to jump into the food chain ahead of guys serving the time won't endear you to them. My advice is do the FI(A) get the teaching experience and un restrict it an the advance.

rudestuff
16th Oct 2017, 20:34