PDA

View Full Version : Becoming an Airline Pilot?

wes94
2nd Sep 2017, 07:53
Hi guys,

I'm hoping I can get a hand from someone on here as I don't really have anyone I can ask in person or get advice from. So a little bit of background, I recently have decided to follow the lifelong dream of becoming a pilot; I have been working fulltime for 3 years after finishing high school in an unrelated field and am now looking into the pathways that could lead to where I want to go.

The only real valid pathway option for me (money complications) that I have found is doing a Bachelor of Aviation at Swinburne Uni. Ideally I feel like a cadetship would be the fastest and best option but I sadly cant afford that option even after HECS/FEE-HELP.

I understand how it works with a cadetship, you go through all the training and then get hired by your airline and work your way up through there. But in my case when I complete my degree what exactly would I be doing from there? It's confused me because its not like completing for example a law degree where as soon as you're done you apply to work at a law firm. Where do I go from there? What job position am I qualified for? Do I apply to multiple airlines in the hopes of getting a job?

Sorry for the long winded question; just hoping I can get some insight before I start!

Band a Lot
2nd Sep 2017, 10:15
What does a lawyer out of uni do for work and what do they get paid (I expect to get the award min and the real pay or casual rates)?

Should look like this-

Base Rate
$35,586
First Year Rate
$38,037
Second Year Rate
$41,835
Third Year Rate
$46,133
Fourth Year Rate
$50,872
Fifth Year Rate and Thereafter
$55,955

Yes you apply for jobs that you are qualified for.

wes94
2nd Sep 2017, 10:33