PDA

View Full Version : Foreign Degree (Australian) Recognition

CityWok
18th Aug 2017, 02:02
Hey Guys,

I've been having a hard time trying to find the answer; would appreciate anyone who has personal experience or any insight into this.

I have an Australian Bachelors degree (3 years) and moved to the USA a while back. I'm currently at the regional airline level but in my application to the other carriers, I'm wondering if my degree is sufficient for their requirements.

Most applications ask for 4 year degrees and I currently only hold a 3 year degree. I've always assumed due to Australia's education standards that this would at least be equivalent to the USA's standard but I recently just got a NACES report done and was only equivalent to 90 semester hours of credit. I believe the USA is 120.

Has anyone had any issues with employment as such? or had to further their education to meet USA standards? or is an Aussie degree sufficient?

Thanks for your help.

fuelsurvey
18th Aug 2017, 22:45
You could probably finish the last bit pretty quickly if you decide to go that route. Check out a school like TESU. Have a look at degreeforum.net and get some advice there. With your current degree and credit for your pilots license you may only need a course or two to check the 4 year box.

pilotchute
19th Aug 2017, 12:16
NACES is spot on. Full course load per week in Oz is 30 hours. One credit for 3 hours equals 30 per year. That's what the USA use to calculate credit.

The reason the USA has 4 year degrees is because everyone does a "common" first year. This is just really for the College to make extra cash on classes you don't need to take.

Kenny
20th Aug 2017, 00:35
This is a bit of a can of worms...

I don't think there's much difference between an Aussie degree and a U.K. degree; my 3 year Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of London was accredited as being the equivalent of a 4 years US Bachelors degree.