PDA

View Full Version : Weather Radar in Cavok Condition?

pineteam
3rd Aug 2017, 11:38
Hello guys,

I Would like to have your opinion about it. I'm honestly shocked that some arlines request the cockpit crew to keep the weather radar ON for every flight regardless of the weather condition?! Why would you keep a device suffering from wear and tear when you have clear skies and thus obviously not required?
I'm flying on the A320 and Airbus clearly mentions to use it "as required". Luckily the airline I work for follows Airbus SOP in that aspect. I'm not an engineer, but I believe having a microwave running under your balls all the times can't be great for the crew and definetely not for the radar mechanism itself.
Thank you.

gearlever
3rd Aug 2017, 11:47
I'm honestly shocked that some arlines request the cockpit crew to keep the weather radar ON for every flight regardless of the weather condition?!

Really? Haven't heard about that. Some are argueing wx-radar is reducing risk of bird strike.

schooner
3rd Aug 2017, 12:04
Leaving it turned on means you don't forget to turn it on when you may actually need it. Belt and braces.

Jonnyknoxville
3rd Aug 2017, 12:22
what schooner said for me as well

Chesty Morgan
3rd Aug 2017, 12:25
Ergo, leaving it on means you might forget to turn it off when you should.

Quite how you'd forget to turn it on if you need it is beyond me.

schooner
3rd Aug 2017, 12:30
Checklist will catch that after landing/shutdown. People have flown through weather before because they haven't had the radar on.

Stan Woolley
3rd Aug 2017, 12:30
what schooner said for me as well

Me too. :ok:

But don't forget to turn the tilt to some useful setting!

STBYRUD
3rd Aug 2017, 12:35
The radars I am familiar with are transmitting continuously anyway when airborne to provide PWS capability, what you select on your ND and WXR panel will only affect what kind of scan it will perform (in between PWS scans)

wiedehopf
3rd Aug 2017, 12:35