PDA

View Full Version : An important consideration for Instructors

glenb
13th Jun 2017, 21:24
Im not a subject matter expert on this and I am hoping someone with more knowledge may jump in and clarify the facts.

Any instructors delivering under an RTO are required to have a Cert 4 in TAE.

Currently this course can be completed for anywhere between about $1200 to $3000. In October this year the course is being superseded by a new Super Course which requires 600 hours of contact time. By my estimates that's probably a 4 to 6 month course. No doubt hideously expensive for an Instructor starting out.

Therefore it would be prudent to obtain the more cost effective option prior to October, and therefore significantly increase your employment prospects. Particularly in light of the fact that post October Instructors most likely wont have the qualification.

As I stated im no expert, but believe I have the general facts correct. Hoping someone can put a bit more meat on my post to assist the new Instructors coming through.

Cheers. Glen.

Horatio Leafblower
13th Jun 2017, 23:14
Well...

...that'll stuff a few business models. This whole VET thing is the most incredible gravy train and self-licking ice cream isn't it?

What notification of industry consultation took place before this occurred?

Xeptu
14th Jun 2017, 00:47
Are we sure a Certificate IV requirement is a CASA imposed requirement and not just an industry direction or standard. I've been looking into doing a Cert IV myself but realised that holding an Instructor Rating particularly a Grade One Instructor Rating is really the same thing.
It makes sense that those that have never held an Instructor Rating and deliver training and assessments (delegations) to ours or any industry, should have some sort of formal qualification to deliver that training over and above just knowledge of the subject material.