PDA

View Full Version : Mil Pilot - Nature or Nurture?

tarantonight
14th Apr 2017, 18:33
Good Evening,

Back in the day (1960's), my father was a FAA Fast Jet man who was Night Fighter/AWI/Carrier qualified.

Despite my unbounded enthusiasm and hopes, Biggin Hill was as far as I got.

In my 53 years, I have carried out a number of activities where the Cognitive part of my brain has definitely won or lost the day

Is it fair to say that those who end up with those wings on the sleeve have 'It'. If you 'haven't', then no matter how much you try, it just won't happen?.

All the best,

TN.

And much respect to those who do have 'It'. Still envious!

Bob Viking
14th Apr 2017, 19:47
Taranto.

I've often wondered the same thing but have no empirical evidence to support either argument. I'm a first generation pilot (FJ) so I guess I'll let you know if and when any of my offspring make the leap.

All I can say with certainty is that when I first saw Top Gun I knew I could do better.

BV

Two's in
14th Apr 2017, 21:14
I believe OASC (or it's equivalent) is more about cost control than recognizing steely eyed aviators. It provides a solid measure that training costs invested in a candidate will deliver a reasonable return of service in terms of operational service. That measure comprises a number of elements, including general aptitude, decision making, visual comprehension, hand-eye coordination etc. Recognizing and measuring those qualities over the years has allowed the training system to deliver viable candidates to operational flying within an acceptable time period i.e. as my Chipmunk instructor used to berate me "I could teach your Granny to fly if we had all day, but we've only got the next hour!".