PDA

View Full Version : Big career decision ahead: Turboprop or Jet

Pugachev Cobra
25th Mar 2017, 14:16
Hello PPRuNers! I've seen some threads about this from many years ago, and though they gave me a good insight, they didn't reflected exactly where I'm at currently.

I work as a FO in a regional jet at a fast growing airline with many narrowbodies expected to arrive in the coming years. After almost 6 years and over 3000+ hours, they have offered me some equipment changes, to a widebody on mostly international long haul, to a bigger narrowbody, all of which I didn't take, so I don't get locked in the equipment and lose command promotion.

Now the day has come where they have offered me Command on their smaller aircraft type, a regional turboprop.

First and foremost, my first end goal when I started on this job was to get command on the regional jet.

My options are, accept the command upgrade offer on the turboprop, and get some maybe 4 years there before they can put me on the jet LHS. Or wait in the RHS in the jet for *MAYBE* some last minute demand from the company where they will need an urgent command on my type.

In the past they've done this, even though the normal career path was to take command on the turboprop, or wait until your buddies that accepted the TP PIC come back to the jet, then they'll offer the jet to you too.

But currently since a lot of the TP Capts are unhappy being bypassed while jet FO's get the upgrade on the jet, management has said they're not gonna do it again. And yet, years before, they said the same thing, and it did happen.

I've seen the older captains repeating the same old rule "Never turn down command. Once a captain, always a captain." etc. And I've read about how that worked 20 years ago, but today is different, since jet time is all that matters.