PDA

View Full Version : Irish CAA

valve guide
22nd Mar 2017, 16:07
Looks like I will be moving to Southern Ireland with my job. Are the Irish CAA any different to the Uk CAA in terms of helicopter maintenance fees/costs and do they have a more lenient attitude towards some of the excellent kits that are available in Europe? I'm a private pilot and just flying for fun. Thanks for any info.

Langball
22nd Mar 2017, 16:18
They are the IAA (Irish Aviation Authority), not the CAA (we got rid of that crowd around 1922). The IAA don't directly set maintenance fees or costs. As for being 'lenient' they don't turn a blind eye (it that's what you mean). Sorry, but if you ask a 'wishy-washy' question you'll get an corresponding answer.

hueyracer
22nd Mar 2017, 16:25
From my experience the IAA is more supportive when it comes to aviation-they seem to have a "can-do" attitude rather than the rest of the EASA-bunch with their "canīt do" attitude....

Thatīs why they are the IAA-and not a "Committed Against Aviation"-community.

Davey Emcee
22nd Mar 2017, 16:25
Southern Ireland ?

Big Enos Burdette
22nd Mar 2017, 16:31
Southern Ireland ?

Cork, bhhhooooyyyy

Duchess_Driver
22nd Mar 2017, 16:36
Looks like I will be moving to The Republic of Ireland with my job.

There you go, fixed that for you. You'll get skinned by some referring to them as "Southern".

I've been here for a while now and have found the IAA to be much more proactive, supportive and approachable than 'on the mainland'.

valve guide
22nd Mar 2017, 17:14
They are the IAA (Irish Aviation Authority), not the CAA (we got rid of that crowd around 1922). The IAA don't directly set maintenance fees or costs. As for being 'lenient' they don't turn a blind eye (it that's what you mean). Sorry, but if you ask a 'wishy-washy' question you'll get an corresponding answer.