PDA

View Full Version : Delta crew refused to believe black woman was a doctor during emergency

peekay4
14th Oct 2016, 01:58
"Tamika Cross, a Houston OB/GYN, was on a Delta flight earlier this week when, as she explained in a Facebook post on Sunday, she realized a passenger in front of her was clearly in distress." ...

While asking for a physician onboard the plane, the flight attendant refuses to believe that Ms. Cross, a black woman, is a doctor.

"I raised my hand to grab her attention," Cross wrote. "She said to me, 'Oh no sweetie put your hand down, we are looking for actual physicians or nurses or some type of medical personnel, we don't have time to talk to you.' I tried to inform her that I was a physician but I was continually cut off by condescending remarks."

Cross had to explain again that she was a physician — and even then, she said, the flight attendant asked "to see her credentials" — all while the sick passenger was still in need of help.

https://mic.com/articles/156707/delta-flight-attendant-refused-to-believe-black-woman-was-a-doctor-during-an-emergency

https://www.facebook.com/tamika.cross.52/posts/658443077654049

nonsense
14th Oct 2016, 02:00
Plane crew almost lets man die because they refuse to believe black woman is a doctor. | Workplace | Someecards (http://www.someecards.com/life/workplace/tamika-cross-doctor-plane/)

Rwy in Sight
14th Oct 2016, 05:22
Old southern habits do die hard.

fox niner
14th Oct 2016, 05:49
And it has nothing to do with aviation. Would be more appropriate in the Professional Social Studies Rumor Network. (PssRuNe)

Noxegon
14th Oct 2016, 06:04
I was wondering whether this might be a hoax, but having researched it it is apparently true:

Delta Airlines Accused of 'Blatant' Discrimination : snopes.com (http://www.snopes.com/2016/10/13/doctor-says-flight-attendants-refused-her-help/)

Huck
14th Oct 2016, 06:49
Old southern habits do die hard.