PDA

View Full Version : Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Smurfjet
6th Mar 2001, 12:31
Anyone try ERAU's distance learning program (Aviation subjects)? Did you like it? Hate it? Good, not good? :)

Is it something you can put on your CV?

Thanks!
SJ

744CTYANKEE
6th Mar 2001, 15:30
I recently enrolled, so I cannot offer a critique at this time, but, the institution is an "Accredited" university, and as such, your work and effort would also be validated enough to put on your resume. Good luck.

nosefirsteverytime
17th Mar 2001, 22:21
Here's my situation...

I'm a student in an Irish secondary school. Next year I will be starting the two-year Leaving Certificate exams after which I will be going to college (wahee!). Whatever I do for my mula, I'd like it t have something to do with planes. I wanted to be a pilot, but my optician won't let me (sniff!). So if I can't fly 'em, I'll have to make 'em, and that means becoming an engineer. However, the only English-speaking Aeronautic Engineering courses on this side of the Atlantic are in Belfast or Limerick. Neither has a good reputation crime-wise, so I thought to my-self "what about US?". I looked, and found this place in Daytona Beach, Florida. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (sound impressive, huh?). Anywez, I read about this place, and I think it would be perfect. however, all I have seen is the official site, and I'd like to get some opinions. I'm all the way over in Ireland, so I can't get any magazines or anything about it from none-partial sources (i.e. past pupils) And, even if I DO find I want to go, where am I gonna get the money? will a company sonsor me? is there aviation scholarships, or something?
So, the three questions I'm asking, are:
What is Embry-riddle like?
Is it worth caming across the Atlantic for?( well, the Florida sunshine's enough to get me over, but anyways)
Is it out of the son of a petrol station owner's son's reach money-wise?

Thanks loads,

Colm J. Flaherty

little red train