PDA

View Full Version : Airlines, touring musicians, lost and broken instruments

Clare Prop
6th Sep 2016, 12:57
Posting on behalf of a friend who is a tour manager for a band.

When I was a tour manager I always used Qantas/Emirates and never had any trouble, I won't name the airline yet, but it wasn't them.

This Australian band were touring Europe, the airline not only lost all their instruments TWICE but when they eventually got them back they were ruined. In hard travel cases.

The airline has basically said the band are not entitled to any compensation. The costs of having to hire said instruments on tour and then replace them, quite apart from the inconvenience, is high and quite easily measurable. These are the tools of their trade.

Other than going to the media, are there any avenues the band can follow?

VP959
6th Sep 2016, 13:20
Did the band have insurance for their instruments?

If not, then I suspect they will just be treated as luggage, and the international agreement on the maximum compensation for damaged or lost luggage would apply, and, from memory, I don't think it's very much money.

IIRC, the maximum limit, together with the details of the duty of care of the airline, is set out in the Montreal Convention. I don't have time to do a web search for it right now, but I'm sure the details must be on the web somewhere.

scotbill
6th Sep 2016, 13:46
There have been reports in the past that some baggage handlers regard Fragile notices as a challenge and have taken a deliberate and violent dislike of music cases in particular.

SMT Member
6th Sep 2016, 14:05
Appreciate it's a bit late now, but for future reference: