PDA

View Full Version : where to go now??

PA-28 CLOUD SURFER
1st Jul 2002, 22:37
Dear All,

I am a little stifled as to where to go next on my roller coaster ride to become an airline pilot. Having left college with good A-Levels in Maths Chemistry and Geography i applied to British Airways and Aer lingus for the sponsourship schemes, progressing through to the interviews and then being asked not to come back. ******!!

Deciding to go to University i am now in my final year and am on course to a high 2:1 in business. I have also currently just finished a ppl and am now, more determined than ever, to become an airline pilot.

Firstly i am quite a big chap play alot of rugby and am fit but wondering if my size will prevent me in any way of reaching my dream. I am 6"1 and 18 stone. Whats the general consensus there please.

Secondly is there any advice, should i apply now or should i finish the degree and then apply. Apart from BA and Aer Lingus does anybody now of complete sponsourship schemes to help a trainee on their way to surf the big wide blue, way up there, (the Sky), with the big boys?

All the help would be most grateful as i am a little stuck as to where to go next,

thanx,

;)

take_me_on_high
1st Jul 2002, 22:53
I know that BA have strict requirements on measurements and fitness tests for there pilots because their seats only take certain sizes. I think there max height was 5'11" but I could be wrong. Also, 18 stone might be a little on the large size for there seats. But when you say big, it sounds like you mean well built so there probably isn't much you can do about it. If on the other hand you are overweight and you know it, then start to lose it now because if you don't, you might not even get the class 1 medical. Remember that class 2 medical you got? That is the tip of the iceburg to the £400+ initial class 1 medical you have to get before you even think about embarking on a commercial course.