PDA

View Full Version : Camera cable release techy


rans6andrew
2nd Aug 2016, 21:45
Do any of you helpful experts know what a camera cable release (electrical rather than bowden cable) circuit looks like? The operating manual doesn't give enough info for me to tell whether the one suggested (Cable Switch CS-205) is unique to the camera, to the brand (Pentax) or if it is an industry standard part. A jack plug is shown on the end of the cable but I can't see if it is 2, 3 or 4 connections. I can measure the hole in the camera to determine if it is 2.5mm or 3.5mm diameter.

I don't want to buy a cable release but I do want to make a remote trigger which works by radio (I have a pair of radio link modules). I am trying to capture a wild fox without having to spend all night (or several nights!) stuck in a hide near to my house.

I initially thought that the I/R remote I already have would do the job but it doesn't work through our double glazed windows. It also causes a red LED to flash on the camera when it is armed which might distract the fox. You can't cover the red light with black tape as the sensor for the built in I/R shutter release uses the same window that the red LED shines through. I have still to test that the remote release and built in flash can be used at the same time. I will get my picture eventually.

Jhieminga
2nd Aug 2016, 21:54
This may be of use: http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/remote_pinout/

G-CPTN
2nd Aug 2016, 21:54
Build your self a cable switch F / CS-205 for your Pentax camera (https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/1369494).

rans6andrew
2nd Aug 2016, 23:17
Ta G-CPTN, I had already found that link but it refers to another, defunct, website for all of the information.

I have also found a recipe for modifying the handy I/R remote shutter release to allow it to be fired from the far end of a cable. This would get me around the double glazing issue but not the blinking LED on the camera issue.

rans6andrew
2nd Aug 2016, 23:24
Jhieminga, I think you have cracked it, Ta. I have some 2.5mm jack plugs in my spares box so I can see if it works tomorrow.

NutLoose
3rd Aug 2016, 00:33
Brian Dorey.com | DIY Camera Laser Break Beam Trigger (http://www.briandorey.com/post/DIY-Camera-Laser-Break-Beam-Trigger)

but can you not modify a https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01DZQ6E14?psc=1

Kulverstukas
3rd Aug 2016, 12:45
Here you go... (https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=ru&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.penta-club.ru%2Fforum%2Fblog%2F1%2Fentry-17-%25d0%25b4%25d0%25b8%25d1%2581%25d1%2582%25d0%25b0%25d0%25bd %25d1%2586%25d0%25b8%25d0%25be%25d0%25bd%25d0%25bd%25d0%25be %25d0%25b5-%25d1%2583%25d0%25bf%25d1%2580%25d0%25b0%25d0%25b2%25d0%25bb %25d0%25b5%25d0%25bd%25d0%25b8%25d0%25b5-%25d0%25ba%25d0%25b0%25d0%25bc%25d0%25b5%25d1%2580%25d0%25b0 %25d0%25bc%25d0%25b8-pentax%2F&edit-text=)

rans6andrew
3rd Aug 2016, 20:53
well done one and all, I think I have every thing I need to know now. Thanks.

KenV
4th Aug 2016, 16:16
I am trying to capture a wild fox.....A cable release cannot "capture a wild fox."

Oh, you meant capture an image of a wild fox. Never mind ;-)