PDA

View Full Version : Warbird Adventure Flying

Warbird Ambitions
31st Jul 2016, 00:07
Hi, I am new to this thread and I apologise in advance for my naivety.
I only have around 70 hours logged but I have been holding off doing a Cpl until I have some direction. My long time dream has been to operate a small warbird adventure flight company here in Australia. I have done a fair bit of research into operating costs of Yak 52's and CJ's but I feel I really need to speak to someone with direct experience in running one of these companies to see if this is a viable option for me. I would like to know typically how many flights a week these companies might be running and weather or not the figures I have come up with are realistic so that I can more accurately assess the risks associated with starting a small business like this.
Thank you in advance to any one willing to offer me some advice or for passing on details of people that may be able to help.

dhavillandpilot
31st Jul 2016, 03:39
I'm amazed why would anyone already in the business want to help a potential competitor compete with them.

Like all small businesses you need to work out your

Fixed overheads
Fixed aircraft ownership costs
Variable ownership costs
Profit margin ( aviation this is no existent)

Then look at what competitors charge.

My guess is DONT do it, as most of the people I know in this business do it as a secondary way of owning an aircraft that is a bit special by defraying the basic ownership costs.

Good luck

drpixie
31st Jul 2016, 09:02
As above, you'll be completing with people who really wanted to own aircraft X and are recovering some of the annual costs.