PDA

View Full Version : Amazon advertising in my private Barclay's site


Loose rivets
23rd Jul 2016, 23:33
Advertising is so endemic I didn't notice right away. Then it struck me. Amazon's ad was in my Barclays online home page.

So, what with being told I couldn't get at my money in a Rayleigh Essex bank, and now finding ads on a site I take very seriously, I think it's time to say goodbye to a bank I've been with for more than half my life. A lot more.

I'll see what they have to say for themselves, but I'm not hopeful they'll change their business strategies just for little ole me.


What think you? Is it as unacceptable as my reaction implies?

G-CPTN
23rd Jul 2016, 23:44
Check whether the adverts are the result of 'cookies' and, therefore, activated by your computer rather than from Barclays.
I presume that you know how to 'clear cookies'? - this will be specific to whatever browser you are using:-

Removing and Blocking Ad Cookies, Browser by Browser (http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/11/technology/personaltech/11basics-sidebar.html?_r=0).

How to Delete Cookies in the Most Popular Web Browsers on Windows (http://www.howtogeek.com/111925/delete-cookies-in-the-five-most-popular-web-browsers-in-windows/).

Sallyann1234
24th Jul 2016, 08:35
A banking site may not work without cookies.

If Adblock doesn't work then you need a Hosts file

G-CPTN
24th Jul 2016, 09:28
I am not advocating blocking cookies, merely deleting previous ones that are probably the ones that instigate the adverts (though I also use AdBlock - and Ghostery).

vulcanised
24th Jul 2016, 11:43
UBlock is a useful alternative to Adblock and works well with FF.
.

VP959
24th Jul 2016, 12:14
How well do things like Adblock work with Win 10? My (very limited) understanding is that Win 10*** has built in advert-serving capability, as that's one of the ways Microsoft are making money from it.

My guess is that if Microsoft have been canny enough to build-in the capability to pass data back from your PC to a large number of their servers, all the time, then they may well have been canny enough to stop add-ons like Adblock from working.

*** Not just Win 10, as I discovered recently. Microsoft added "telemetry" to Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 a while ago, via a updates. I only found this by accident, when I noticed network traffic when there were no web apps running. I traced it, and the traffic was going to around a dozen Microsoft servers, including advert tracking services. I have Adblock installed, so don't get any ads that might be served, but the data was going back from files on my PC (until I put a stop to it, see here: How to stop Microsoft from gathering telemetry data from Windows 7, 8, and 8.1 - Super User (http://superuser.com/questions/972501/how-to-stop-microsoft-from-gathering-telemetry-data-from-windows-7-8-and-8-1) )

IBMJunkman
24th Jul 2016, 14:52
This site publishes a new HOSTS monthly. Blocking Unwanted Connections with a Hosts File (http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm)

What you see on sites with a lot of adverts are white boxes with a text message that says Unable to reach server. The down side is if you click on a link marked as an ad on a Google search page you can't get to it. Many times the same site is listed below the ads and that link can be used.

Pontius Navigator
24th Jul 2016, 16:47
You may recall what was said when Lord Prescott found particular dating sites popping up on his computer.