PDA

View Full Version : How long did Self-Study ATPL Theory take you?

ManUtd1999
20th Jul 2016, 21:21
I'm considering "going modular" and one of my biggest reservations is the ATPL theory. The plan would be to train over a period of ~3 years whilst working full-time to graduate with no debt.

I've got good A-Levels and a degree so don't have any real concerns about the difficulty of the exams as such. I do however question whether I'll have the time (and motivation) to sit and study for hours after a full day at work.

So, how long did the self-study take you. How many hours a week did you put in on average?

Advice is much appreciated (PS, please don't turn this into a "I'd studied more/less than you therefore I'm better" thread!)

RichardH
21st Jul 2016, 07:20
As an ATPL theory instructor I can give you the other side of the coin. With your qualifications the standard of material won't be a problem. It's volume in time that's the killer & distance learning (D/L) can be a lonely place.

I have had students complete the ATPL theory in 6-8 months without prior experience but this is unusual. Others are still trying and are on their second sittings after a couple of years. On average if you are putting in around 15 hours per week you are looking at doing the theory in about a year. Please remember that once you have taken your first exam you have 18 months to complete all the theory, maximum 6 sittings in total and maximum 4 for a subject.

Though ability does play a part it is usually lack of motivation or distractions (eg. running a business) that causes students the biggest problems with D/L. I have conversations every month with students who are about to expire in terms of time & or sittings for whatever reasons (you don't want to be here). On a positive note most students do get through first time within the time limits but don't underestimate the work required - it is not an easy option.

Best of luck.

parkfell
21st Jul 2016, 14:32