PDA

View Full Version : Transiting at Frankfurt T1

Gerry Lawlor
27th Jun 2016, 21:51
I will be flying DUB-FRA-SFO with Lufthansa on each leg. The changeover at FRA is relatively short and I am coming from a non-Schengen country. I am therefore wondering if the inbound A321 uses a jetway in T1 and if it is necessary to go through both passport control and security before reaching the outbound A380 gate in the same terminal. I have had some not-good experiences with connections in Frankfurt in the past on being bussed from planes parked on the apron but I think that was probably Aer Lingus.

No worries on the return leg as the lay-over is quite long. On that score does anyone know if PE SLF can pay for access to the LH lounge?

Any words of encouragement will be appreciated.

PAXboy
27th Jun 2016, 22:49
For you to buy access to the Luft lounge? No. Check the main FRA website and search for lounges. They may have paid for access lounges. Also, some loyalty and credit cards may give you access.

alserire
28th Jun 2016, 10:22
From Ireland and travel through FRA a few times a year with LH. Yes to passport and security. I've no idea why but they make you do security again. They don't if you are doing intra Schengen. PAssport obviously makes sense if coming from outside Schengen

I never had a problem with Frankfurt till it all went wrong on me last week. EI always on the apron but the LH A321 often, but not always, uses an airbridge. Last week it didn't. So landing on the distant runway ten minutes late, a fifteen minute taxi in, plus a bus ride along with passport and security (by far the quickest part of the whole transfer) meant an hour wasn't enough. There was a flight an hour later to where I was headed so I was ok but somehow I doubt there's an LH plane to SFO an hour after your one.

It depends which departure from DUB you're on. If it's the early one you should be ok but the 12.10 p.m. has been running late a bit recently depending on the day.