PDA

View Full Version : Does anybody uae this radar 'trick'

JammedStab
12th Mar 2016, 01:31
"A major concern going into BOG was the developing TRW in the evening. Much later on the 767, flying with XXXXXXX Airlines crews who lived in South America flying, I learned about the radar ‘trick’ they used. This was to put the radar on max gain, set the range to 40 miles, and tilt to 8-10 degrees down. By doing this, you picked up the “shadow” of a dry TRW in development. Earlier, I found out the hard way, during a descent through a haze layer, that there was a developing TRW ahead of us."

msbbarratt
12th Mar 2016, 10:43
Reminds me of how the Chain Home operators became so good at interpreting their A scope displays they were able to out perform anyone's wildest expectations.

Operators have always found innovative ways of using their kit in a manner not expected by the designers. As an equipment designer I have been pleasantly surprised many times by just what my operators could achieve. Experience gained through real world usage cannot be beaten.

Sciolistes
12th Mar 2016, 13:29
TRW? Anyway, for the Honeywell systems at least, it is a manufacturer recommended technique.

Good Business Sense
12th Mar 2016, 15:01
Hi,

As I'm sure everyone is aware but just to clarify

you can't pick up "dry" - that's why you aim the tilt for the temperature band approx -10C and above. Anything colder does not reflect, particularly with the modern day radars of approx 120 watts (think of the energy per square foot/mile or whatever out at 40/80/100 miles over the tilt angle)

Now the 60 kw radars from the old days that was a little bit different - I sometimes felt you could pick up individual raindrops with them - just so much more return energy.

Cheers

Centaurus
13th Mar 2016, 14:15