PDA

View Full Version : Prospects for the budding pilot with responsibilities.

holding4release
21st Feb 2016, 20:26
Hello all, after many years of reading these forums from the jump seat, I've taken the plunge and become a member.

My situation - for as long as I can remember I've had a keen interest in aviation. (Living near EGMC probably helped). For some reason when I was at school I never considered a flying career a possibility, I guess coming from a not very well off background I almost assumed this was a path reserved for a very select few, akin to becoming an astronaut! As a result I didn't even express my interest to my teachers/parents career officers through fear of ridicule - my biggest regret :ugh:.

Instead my love of machines led me into Agriculture no less. I studied a Bsc at my local Agricultural College and now work in commercial agricultural research. (Not too many machines there).

I've worked hard in my sector and built a life for myself, got a house a wife and a son! But I still find myself tormented by my career choice every time I see another plane jump off the runway and break through the clouds. (I’ll put the violin away now!)

Over the years I've built up a fair amount of aviation knowledge just through curiosity. I can decode a METAR, choose the appropriate holding entry method, interpret a STAR and request an IFR clearance and I’ve only had one 30min trial lesson! needless to say I’m truly fascinated by flying. I think about it when I first wake up and when go to bed. I can only assume that this is normal for those with “the bug”.

Frustratingly it’s only the last couple of years that I think there’s a possibility of this happening for me. I’ve done my research into the two options – integrated vs modular. Because I now have commitments, modular really is my only option, for financial and personal reasons. Neither I nor my family particularly want me away for months at a time and not earning.