PDA

View Full Version : help me please!!! ATPL decision to make

moo
20th Jun 2002, 16:20
I've just finished my HNC (aeronautical engineering) and am considering all the options available to me. I have a PPL and have full intention of getting an ATPL whatever it takes. I'm an avionic technician with the world's favourite earning just over £20000 and have a few options come september. At the moment I don't have the capital I need to fund the practical part of the course, but in two years I would've hoped to have saved a fair bit and am fortunate to have an uncle who has a fair amount of cash lying around, as well as the option of the HSBC loan - so would like to think that I would've gotten together £40000.

1. five more years part-time study to get a degree (from that point, who knows where or how - well paid job??)
2. start my ATPL theory course studying from home and save a fair bit of money - approx two years
3. go and get a well-paid avionic technician job in Saudi (there are opportnities at the moment) and save and study at the same time - approx two years
4. Apply for an ATC scholarship with NATS or Eurocontrol (I know its 5 years+ and its not piloting, but its good money and 100% relevant so long term a swap of career is possible)
5. Short-term service (5 years) with the RAF (I don't fancy this much...)

I think thats them all - I'm 22 years old and if any CEPs come up in the next few years I would apply for those too.