PDA

View Full Version : Revalidating CPL MEP IR

Iflyplainplanes
25th Nov 2015, 18:27
Hi Guys, forum newbie here so apologies if this isnt quite the right thread. I have a few questions;

I finished my CPL in August 2010 under JAA, this expired in September.
I finished my MEP IR in the summer of 2011, which expired in 2012 and my SEP has also lapsed (I think in 2012 also) I have around 250 flying hours and about 50 in the SIM (FNPT and a Citation for MCC)

It is my understanding that to get a EASA CPL, you have to have at least one valid rating on your CPL then to exchange JAA for EASA.

I know that if my IR has lapsed longer than 7 years I have to do ground school exams again.

I want to know what I have to do to revalidate my CPL MEP IR and obviously to make sure its all EASA. Is it just a case of passing 3 skills tests to revalidate them at this stage or will I need to go back to ground school? Do I have to have a minimum amount of hours? and after 7 years will I need to do all 14 ATPL exams again or just IR related ones? Thanks.

ifitaintboeing
25th Nov 2015, 22:45
I want to know what I have to do to revalidate my CPL MEP IR and obviously to make sure its all EASA. Is it just a case of passing 3 skills tests to revalidate them at this stage or will I need to go back to ground school

The requirements are for you to complete training as needed to reach the required level of proficiency, then a combined MEP/IR Proficiency Check.

For the MEP/IR Proficiency Check, it's actually just one combined test to renew both your MEP and IR ratings. See FCL.625 for IR Renewal requirements (CAP 804, Section 4, Part G, Subpart 1, page 3) and FCL.740 for MEP Class Rating Renewal requirements (CAP 804, Section 4, Part H, Subpart 1, page 6). Simples!

You can then apply to the CAA for an EASA licence which will be returned as a lifetime EASA CPL(A) with valid MEP and IR ratings.

ifitaint...

Iflyplainplanes
28th Nov 2015, 14:12
Thank you! So no CPL skills test then?

macflea