PDA

View Full Version : 407 vs. AS350B2/3 in Low Enforcement

eg0
16th Jun 2002, 20:43
407 vs. AS350B2/3

I need to choose between the 2 - What would YOU recommend for a Law Enforcement job....

What are the Pro's and Con's of both types?

Why did the LA Police switch their Bell Product to the Eurocopter one?

Thx
;)

paco
17th Jun 2002, 02:02
Striclty between machines without the application you mention, I prefer the 407, though I've only flown the Twinstar, not the B2. There can't be many helicopters restricted to 2000 fpm with full fuel and passengers (that's because the auto characteristics are a bit dodgy from that attitude, especially in quiet mode). Plenty of power, lots of collective at the end of an auto, 140 kts, though it bumps a bit when it's wet and the FADEC could do with some more fail safe (speaking as a PC technician, I think one circuit board is a bit cheesy with no backup). Then again, the Astar is cheesy in many respects too, not least the little hydraulic belt, the wiring and the connectors.

It might be worth ringing Alpine in BC - they apparently find some issues at high altitudes, and a couple of other problems they haven't mentioned yet.

As for law enforcement, I wish we had them instead of the Scouts in N Ireland. I think I would probably take due note of the 407's engine off characteristics if you're going to be over strange places. the Astar comes down like a greased manhole cover.

Phil

HeliMark
17th Jun 2002, 02:14
eg0, your best source for that type of information is at www.alea.org . That is an airborne law enforcment web site. I can not comment on why LAPD made the switch, other then the 407 was new and had some real growing pains.