PDA

View Full Version : Advice for becoming a pilot

doc5
31st Aug 2015, 12:28
Hi.
I really want to become a pilot and to be honest I couldn't see myself doing anything else.
I am in my final year in schooland so have to decide what to do after school. Should I go and get a degree in something first or should I just go straight into pilot training after school?
Also, would it be advantageous with regard to airline cadetships if I did my degree in something like aeronautical engineering or does it matter?

I'm just wondering if there are any loan schemed/funding options that would allow someone to go straight to flight school. I know that OAA has the bbva scheme but am I right in saying that this is only open to UK citizens. I'm Irish.

Thanks in advance for any advice

Transsonic2000
31st Aug 2015, 13:34
Hi there,

well, I'd recommend to get a degree first, before getting into aviation and preferably a non aviation related degree, to have something to fall back on in case it doesn't work out with an aviation/pilot career. As already said, a degree preferably not aviation related, since an aviation degree itself won't be an advantage nor will it "buy" you a job in the cockpit, what matters much more to the airlines is if you can safely pilot an airplane from point A to point B. Best wishes and good luck!

paco
31st Aug 2015, 18:52
Some sort of other qualification, certainly. Something you can pick up and drop off, such as carpentry, plumbing, electrician, etc. Degrees aren't that flexible.

Phil

IFPS man
31st Aug 2015, 19:27
Be medically checked out first (eyesight etc) and get your Class I...

gordonquinn
1st Sep 2015, 11:34
doc5 have you got any flying experience at the moment? have you flown before?

doc5
1st Sep 2015, 15:41
doc5 have you got any flying experience at the moment? have you flown before?

None flying but a few backseater on a Cessna 172. Im doing my leaving cert now so I don't have the time nor the money but maybe this summer I might get a few