PDA

View Full Version : Whether or Not to Start PPL Early

Duttonfx
9th Aug 2015, 08:59
Hey guys,

I'm a 15 year old pilot who almost occupies a RA-AUS license (went solo yesterday), I intend on getting my navigation endorsement and passenger endorsement when I get my base license. But I was wondering, once I finish my RAA license would it be a good idea or not to start my PPL early so once I finish school I could start with my CPL, MEIRC and ATPL studies once I finish school. Or should I go full time and get my PPL, CPL, MEIRC and ATPL studies when I do finish school? I am wondering which would be a better option, I am pretty eager to start my PPL but am wondering whether or not it would not be beneficial in terms of knowledge.

Capt Claret
9th Aug 2015, 09:14
In terms of knowledge, yes it would be beneficial. The only detriment to doing it that way may be cost. It could be cheaper in the long run in dollar terms to consolidate all the training.

You can't acquire too much knowledge or experience.

Good luck. :ok:

Diesel Pilot
9th Aug 2015, 09:26
Duttonfx,

My advice would be to wait until you can do all your training from PPL onwards full time if you have the option to do so. Reason is the more frequently you fly the better you will learn the required skills and the less chance of having to relearn skills if you have large gaps when training part time. This means you'll get your licenses faster and save money ion the long run. Having no breaks will make the transition to CPL and beyond easier. I started out part time for my GFPT (now RPL) and PPL flying once every 1-2 weeks then went to full time to finish off the CPL and FIR. If I could do it again I would go full time if I had the option.